merimeringn in NR 📆 ADMINISTRATIVE MARKING E.O. 12085, Section 97199 By MARS, Date 1/1/72

REPRODUCED AT THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES

O. D. ATCHIC EMERGY COMMISSION

Washington, D. C.

January 21, 1948

409271

To: From:

Subject:

Memorandum

Principal Staff

Captain James S. Russell, USN

AEC Test Director

Information Made Public Regarding the Enivetck

Proving Ground

The following information has been made public regarding the Atomic Energy Commission Proving Ground at Eniwetck Atoll in the Marshall Islands, Western Pacific:

- a. Establishment of proving grounds in the Pacific for routine experiments and tests of atomic weapons, (Semi-annual Report to Congress July 22, 1947)
- b. Eniwetok is the site and construction by the Armed Forces, under Lt. General John E. Hull, has been started. Technical operations of proving ground will further peaceful as well as military application of atomic energy. Security restrictions will apply. Area to be closed. Eniwetok best site, involves removal of fewest natives. (Press Release, December 1, 1947)
- c. United Nations Security Council notified that the United States has closed Eniwetak Atoll. (State Department, December 2, 1947)
- d. Armed Forces will assist AEC in conducting tests. Joint Task Force organization with principal commander and staff officers announced. Scientific Director and staff, and Test Director and staff announced. Relations between Laboratory, AEC and Armed Forces discussed. (Press Release, December 22, 1947)
- e. Natives have been removed from Eniwetek to Ujelang. Choice made by natives who appear fully satisfied. (Navy Press Release, December 23, 19年)

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

- 2 -

f. Danger area 150 x 200 nautical miles established with Eniwetok at the center. (Press Release, December 30, 1947)

Distribution:

Commissioners General Manager Fletcher C. Waller John A. Derry Richard O. Niehoff Roy B. Snapp Adrian Fisher Shields Warren Roger S. Warner, Jr. Brig. General James McCormack, Jr. R. A. Lavendar Walter J. Williams

John K. Gustafson James B. Fisk Malcolm E. Pitts Paul W. Ager Paul M. Green Morse Salisbury Donald E. Bostock Admiral John Gingrich A. A. Wells Military Liaison Committee