· U. S. ATOMIC ENERGY COMMISSION

409622

Washington, D. C.

January 21, 1948

REPOSITORY COLLECTION RC 322 BOX NO. 90 (NN 3-321. FOLDER 682

Memorandum

To: Principal Staff

From: Captain James S. Russell, USN AEC Test Director

Subject: Information Made Public Regarding the Eniwetok Proving Ground

The following information has been made public regarding the Atomic Energy Commission Proving Ground at Eniwetok Atoll in the Marshall Islands, Western Pacific:

- A. Establishment of proving grounds in the Pacific for routine
  experiments and tests of atomic weapons. (Semi-annual Report to Congress July 22, 1947)
  - b. Eniwetok is the site and construction by the Armed Forces, under Lt. General John E. Hull, has been started. Technical operations of proving ground will further peaceful as well as military application of atomic energy. Security restrictions will apply. Area to be closed. Eniwetok best site, involves removal of fewest natives. (Press Release, December 1, 1947)
  - c. United Nations Security Council notified that the United States has closed Eniwetok Atoll, (State Department, December 2, 1947)
  - Armed Forces will assist AEC in conducting tests. Joint Task Force
    organization with principal commander and staff officers announced.
    Scientific Director and staff, and Test Director and staff announced.
    Relations between Laboratory, AEC and Armed Forces discussed. (Press Release, December 22, 1947)
  - e. Natives have been removed from Eniwetok to Ujelang. Choice made by natives who appear fully satisfied. (Navy Press Release, December 23, 1947)

BEST COPY AVAILABLE

10 × 10

JM H. 10-7-48

f. Danger area 150 x 200 nautical miles established with Eniwetok at the center. (Press Release, December 30, 1947)

James S. Russell Captain, USN

## Distribution:

Commissioners General Manager Fletcher C. Waller John A. Derry Richard O. Niehoff Roy B. Snapp Adrian Fisher Shields Warren Roger S. Warner, Jr. Brig. General James McCormack, Jr. Walter J. Williams

John K. Gustafson James B. Fisk Malcolm E. Pitts Paul W. Ager Paul M. Green Morse Salisbury Donald E. Bostock Admiral John Gingrich A. A. Wells R. A. Lavendar Military Liaison Committee